Sabotage

I wonder if sometimes we sabotage ourselves. It doesn’t really matter the situation, weight loss or just happiness in general. Sometimes we have a good thing going for us then just mess it all up. I made the decision on Wednesday that I wasn’t going to track for the rest of the week. I was going to eat whatever I wanted and not care, then start over on Saturday, my weigh in day. So, I did just that. I had pizza, potato chips, alcohol, and didn’t even care. Today, I went to my Weight Watchers meeting and the scale said 5.8 pounds. I expected a gain, but honestly not that much. I began to wonder if I didn’t just screw up all of my hard work. Honestly, taking my break didn’t even suit me all that much. I was having horrible migraine headaches and was sick to my stomach for 3 days. I’m feeling better now, but now I know that eating healthy is just good for my body.

Then, my best friend reassured me. Yes, I’ve been working so hard, tracking almost to the point of obsession. I needed a break. I needed to cut loose, if just for a few days. So, I did. And now, my head is on straight, I’m going back to the gym tomorrow and I am going to be a tracking machine once again. I know what I have to do and what I need to do to get there. I didn’t really sabotage myself after all.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Denise
    May 08, 2011 @ 08:25:40

    I so know what you mean. For me lately it has been a slow slide back into old habits… The rationalizing of eating this, or not exercising then. Good to see you getting back on track.

    Reply

  2. Dacia
    May 09, 2011 @ 09:56:16

    I think it is important to make sure you are depriving yourself- learn how to balance your points so you can still eat pizza and have some drinks, just in moderation. This will allow you to ‘have your cake and eat it too.’ Ithink everyone hits that wall every now and again and just want to just stop for a few days and go crazy. The downside with this (as you pointed out in your post) is although these foods are yummy they also make us feel crappy, especially when we overindulge. I am not judging, I have been there too. I am happy you are back on track and aren’t letting a tiny setback completely derail you. More than likely you didn’t gain 5.8 lbs, most of that is probably water weight from the increased sodium intake. Make sure you drink plenty of water to flush out your system and those pounds will come right off!

    Reply

  3. Dacia
    May 09, 2011 @ 09:57:13

    Sorry, I meant to say it is important that you aren’t depriving yourself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

