My Moment of Zen

Today’s meeting was all about finding time for yourself. I live by myself, I have “me time” almost constantly, but I am finding that my true me time is when I’m at the gym. I love going with my best friend, but even then we’re doing our own things. She’s developed a love for the bicycle while I prefer the treadmill. Our fitness plans are different and that’s okay. That’s why, I’ve decided that when I am on the treadmill or doing my weight training, I am centering myself. All of the outside influences just fade away and it’s just me. I become one with myself and the music that I’m listening to. I find my focus. I quite literally go to my happy place.

Last week, I had a bad weigh-in. The scale said that I’d gained nearly 6 pounds. I had lost my focus. I started drinking sodas and, admittedly, I drank a lot. I didn’t eat as healthily as I could have and ditched the diet in favor of chips and queso and McDonald’s. Oh, and there was definitely some alcohol thrown into the mix last Friday night. So, when I stepped on the scale on Saturday morning, it read that I’d gained 5.8 pounds. I was a tad shocked, but then everything made sense. My focus began to shift back to where it needed to be: my ultimate goal of this healthy lifestyle. That’s not to say that I can’t have a couple of drinks with friends and have a good time, but I know that I’m going to have to track any alcohol just like I would food. It’s liquid fat, for real.

This week, I went to the gym three times and followed the fitness training plan that I got when I had my personal training session a few weeks ago. I increased my speed when I walked, I did all of the weight training machines that I was supposed to and even did some high intensity cardio to finish the session up. I even got a bit of hot tub and swimming time in mid-week. By Friday, I was feeling great and am still feeling great today I have completely given up soda once more and have chosen water and the occasional decaf unsweetened tea instead.

My efforts have paid off, most assuredly.

Today’s Weigh-in: -11.4 pounds

Total weight loss on Weight Watchers (since 2/12): -17.4 pounds

Total weight loss since 11/4/2010: -49 pounds

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 11:48:05

    Tasha, if you like Mojitos, Margaritas, or LITs, you can imbibe at Applebee’s. They have each of these in a “skinny bee” version that carries just 90-110/20 calories each. They apparently use sugar-free, calorie-free alternatives to the junk in the cocktails that aren’t alcohol. I had the mojito on Sunday and it was DELICIOUS… I got to have a pretty drink and be social and not ruin my diet by drinking my calories away.

    Reply

  2. Dacia
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 12:49:16

    Wow! Congrats on the HUGE loss this week! That is amazing! I am a tad bit jealous 😉

    Glad to have found your blog, it is always nice to follow along with other peoples WW journey. I joined about a month ago and am really liking it.

    Reply

    • Tasha Lee
      Apr 19, 2011 @ 12:51:19

      Thank you so much for reading! I love connecting with fellow WW folks. Loved your blog as well!

      Reply

      • Dacia
        Apr 19, 2011 @ 12:54:50

        It’s funny that your name is Tasha Lee and mine is Dacia (prounounced day-sha, in case you have never heard my weird name before) Lee. Very similar 😉

  3. Tasha Lee
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 12:58:18

    I’ve heard your name, just never sure how it was pronounced. I feel like it was a name used in a book I read for a Latin class once. Very pretty name! And neat that our names are so similar!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

