It’s a good thing

I apologize for getting off track with my weekly update posts. I also plan on making one of those My Fitness Pal charts to track my weight loss in this journey. Last week, I decided to try something new: I wouldn’t eat all of my points. I get a lot. It just seemed like eating all of my points on PointsPlus was going to be a huge struggle. Okay, eating healthy things to accumulate my points would be a struggle. Remember that crazy point burger from Red Robin? Not going to eat that every day. So, I decided that I would attempt to cut back on my point values by around 20. That’s how it worked out, at least.

Kroger had those Smart Ones on sale as part of the Buy 10 get $5 deal, so I bought 10. I ended up spending $15 for them total because of the $5 deal. PS Meijer has them on sale this week for 5 for $9. That makes them $1.80 a piece and with the $3 off coupon from the Weight Watchers Weekly or the Smart Ones website, you will save an additional $.30 which will bring the price down to $1.50. Not too bad. I plan on getting some before the sale is up this weekend.

After a couple of weeks of discouragement, I kicked myself into overdrive. I joined the gym and went 4 times last week. I drank lots of water and generally just kept a high outlook. As a result, I lost 2.8 pounds! This week, I’ve slacked off a little, though I went to the gym on Sunday and Monday. I met with a personal trainer and he gave me a recommended plan that I intend to follow.

My weight loss from Saturday completely made up for what I’d gained and I’m happy to be back on track. Continuing to drink a lot of water and track my points will help in this, I’m sure. As always, I appreciate all of the support and love that everyone has continued to show me.

Before I close, some of my friends are participating in the Run the Bluegrass Half Marathon this weekend. Krissie, Nathan and Emily will be running and walking and I’m SO excited for them. I hope the weather holds out and it’s not an absolute soaker like it was last year.

Oh! I do have something that I want to announce. After having dinner with Krissie last night and getting some feedback, I’ve decided that I want to walk in a 5k! If my schedule permits, I will do the Run by the River in June, but I for sure will do the Turkey Trot in Downtown Russell on Thanksgiving morning and the Southern Lights Stroll. I think it’ll be really fun! For the Turkey Trot, the entry fee is a canned food donation, so it’ll be really great to make a donation to the Helping Hands food bank in Greenup.

Keep positive and I love you all!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Psynister
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 16:26:32

    Grats on the great loss!

    I found with the previous program that I could go without tracking just fine and still manage to lose weight, but with the new plan what I’ve seen so far is basically that I gain every week that I don’t track and I lose every week that I do.

    I slacked on my tracking this week, so I’m already expecting to see a gain when I go to the weigh-in tonight. It’s not that I’ve given up or anything, I just know that I gain when I don’t track. If I have a loss instead, then yahoo for me, but I don’t see it happening.

    So from my experience, I’d say tracking is probable the single most important thing you can do to help yourself lose the weight. Drinking your water is definitely key, I can attest to that as well, but that tracker is the key of all keys.

    Reply

  2. Tasha Lee
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 00:48:33

    Thanks, Psyn. I look forward to hearing how things turned out for you this week.

    Reply

  3. Denise
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 11:58:44

    Congrats on the weight loss. So what are some of the things on the recommended plan you got from the personal trainer?

    Reply

  4. Tasha Lee
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 18:56:46

    I’m going to do cardio 3 days a week and weight training 2 days a week. One day of the cardio will be a slower pace on the treadmill, then for the other two, I’ll amp it up to a higher speed, but for a lower amount of time. For weight training, I’ll be doing 2 sets of 12 reps on about 10 machines.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

