Here’s where I stand

Today I went to my first Weight Watchers meeting in 11 months. After seeing some success in early 2010, I made the commitment mind, body, soul, and checking account to go on a new weight loss journey. And today at noon I went to a meeting. I remembered the leader from last year and I recalled having liked her. She was very honest and helpful and I couldn’t help but notice that she remembered everyone’s name, even those who weren’t wearing name tags. I confess I forgot to get one, but there was trouble at the scale when I was weighing in (not my fault, just a blink in the computer system.) She even remembered me from my meetings last year. Talk about comforting. To think that she remembered me and was glad that I was back just put me at total ease.

I stayed for the Getting Started informational session after the meeting. Today’s topic was about knowing when you’re hungry and recognizing those hunger signals. I think that’s one thing that I’m going to be very cognizant of. I don’t want to eat because I’m bored, stressed, or anxious anymore. I want to eat at the appropriate time and eat to satisfy myself not just stuff my face. Since this was my first meeting, getting all of the materials to help me was really exciting. The pocket guide is going to be excellent and it’s amazing how many foods are Power Foods that will fill me up without filling me out. Even fruits that are high in sugars like bananas and mango are 0 points. I can’t eat 10 mangoes but I can enjoy one without feeling guilty like I did just one year ago.

So I weighed-in and now I know where I stand. Currently, that is -31 pounds from November 2010. That is an unofficial record, of course, because it’s been several months and I’m sure it’s been up and down, but I’m currently at the same weight I was after my second week doing WW in 2010. I call that a milestone. It means that the 20+ I talked about having gained back in my first post in October, I’ve lost and then some. As I am able to incorporate activity into the lifestyle change, I see more loss in the future. And I’m beyond thrilled. This has been so many years in the making, and while I’m not going to count my proverbial chickens, I’m going to stop, breathe, and realize that I can do this after all.

I met my mom for lunch in Morehead, KY at La Finca Mexican Restaurant. I had a taco salad and, yes, I ate the shell. I didn’t even hit my total points for today and I didn’t use a single extra point of my Weekly Allowance all week. For a minute, I felt like I was doing it wrong, but I remembered that someone who got a 5 pound sticker today said that she tries to not use her weekly points at all. It was a special occasion, though. It was a special Valentine’s Day dinner for my mom and I. I also hadn’t seen her since right after Christmas.
I’m not going to make a habit of dining out, moths are flying out of my pocket book as it is. But, I’m going to learn from my meal today and never put myself in a situation where I feel “too full.” That was definitely the take home message of today’s meeting and now I know the truth behind it.

And Mom is thinking about joining Weight Watchers too! She was taking a look at the materials and saying “I already do this!” “That’s how I fix that!” It would be an absolute joy to go through this process with her. She’s been my absolute constant source of you-can-do-it-ness my entire life. She has been there for me when for a time I had no one else in the world — senior year of high school and freshman year of college — and I have almost lost her several times. That’s another story, but let me just say I am blessed to have her in my life, so very blessed.

I do want to shout out to my friend Emily of SkinnyEmmie. She’s embarking on a monumental task: she’s beginning to train for Run the Bluegrass. Did you know that a Half Marathon is 13.1 miles? Well, she’s doing it and in the process raising money for  research for Parkinson’s Disease and other neurological disorders. I cannot be more proud of her for not only losing 103+ pounds, but training for a half marathon! Again, total inspiration. So please, watch this video and donate.

So, today has been a positive day all around. I hope everyone’s week turned out well and that everyone is staying healthy. I’m finally at 99.9% and I’m ready to start the week off with a bang.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily Sandford
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 05:07:41

    >Thank you so much for the shout out, and congratulations on your progress so far!

    Reply

  2. Emily
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 14:42:45

    >Hey there! I saw you post on the boards. I'm from Lexington, too! 🙂 I go to meetings on Tuesdays! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Tasha Lee
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 02:45:34

    >Hi, Emily! Nice to meet you! Saturday meetings work best for my schedule, but it's nice to know some people that are in WW here in town.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

