Pow! Right in the Kissah

I’ve had many positive thoughts, well wishes and good vibes sent my way since I made my way back into the blogosphere. I’m going to be doing that over on my main blog soon too (and my Examiner.com page, and my Associated Content page, etc etc etc…) but I just felt that it was very important to me to start here. So, thank you for all of the support you’ve given me in the last couple of weeks.

Saturday, I wrote that I had joined Weight Watchers and I was ready and rarin’ to go then POW! Right in the Kissah: Bronchitis, Upper Respiratory Infection (they can happen at the same time!) and Sinus Infection. Boom. I felt myself getting sick and by late Sunday night, early Monday morning I knew that it was full on. I called in to work on Monday and dragged myself to the doctor who put me on antibiotics, cough medicine, an inhaler (for the epic wheezing) and acetaminophen for the crazy fever I had. It’s now early Friday morning and I’m at about 90%, but man that fever was scary. It seriously peaked at 103. My mom was ready to drive to Lexington and take me home to take care of me. I drake plenty of fluids, mostly water, some Sprite and apple juice. Soup at Hand was very kind to me as well. I get sick right about this time every year. Not sure why, but I do.

I decided that Saturday will be my meeting day at Weight Watchers. I usually have Saturday mornings free so I have a couple of different options as far as meeting times go and I really like the Weight Watchers center here in Lexington. There are plenty of choices all over town, though. Sunday afternoons would be my other option, but that is the day I usually get together with all of my friends to hang out, game, etc. For consistency’s sake, I’d prefer not to mix days, as last time I did that and wound up going to the same meeting twice. I thought, “This all sounds so familiar.”

But, in the mean time, I’ve been drinking water like it’s going out of style and mostly due to being sick, I’ve been under points every day. I did get Wendy’s for lunch today and I found out that baked potatoes are power foods. That pretty much made my day. I’ve recently come to love three things: baked potatoes, broccoli and asparagus. I had SO much broccoli on my best friend’s birthday. I probably ate 2 cups of the stuff. I did drizzle a bit of cheese sauce on top, but it was sooo tasty.

I hope everyone is keeping healthy this week. The weather has been crazy with up and down temperatures so it’s a prime time to get sick. And there’s some really nasty stuff going around my neck of the woods. Working in an elementary school, I’m especially susceptible to nasty germs.

Until next time!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Alison
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 07:02:26

    >I saw your tweet about the pico on the Baja salad, and I wanted to say that salads are great as long as you control what's on them. :\ It sounds like you are doing great, though, so keep up the good work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

