Don’t call it a comeback

Okay folks. It’s 2011. We’re 1/2 of the way through January and who has kept their resolutions? Anyone? Anyone? Bueller? You in the back, yes you with the Twinkie. What happened to that resolution of no refined sugars? Oh, and you that said you were giving up soda. Can’t very well do that while sipping on a Mt. Dew now can you? We all have good intentions when starting out the new year, but truth be told, it’s easy to fall out of your routine. As we’re cooped up inside during the Winter months, it seems like one of the only things we can do is snack, isn’t it? It’s really easy to sit and make goals or resolutions. But if you have no motivation or determination, you won’t succeed.

So, here I am. I created this blog a few months ago with the intention that I was going to put myself out there. And then I put it aside like I tend to do with most things. But now, I’m back. And I’m not going to be alone. It seems like my entire circle of friends has declared their intentions for getting healthy and I couldn’t be happier. I know the methods will be different, but I hope all of our results are the same. And how awesome is it to be surrounded by positive people who will be cheering you on the whole way? I hope to share some of their insight in future posts.

I mentioned briefly in my first post that I’d joined Weight Watchers and the YMCA back in 2010. Well, I’ve just signed up for SparkPeople.com and I hope to make that one of my main sources for logging my nutritional information. I also have all of my Weight Watchers resources (thought I will not be on the plan formally) and I will be contacting the YMCA to see if I can renew my membership. There’s a financial assistance form on their website that I’ll be sending in as soon as I talk to someone about it.

The way I see it, things can only go up from here, but I have to put the effort into making things happen. You can’t sit on the sidelines and expect to score a touchdown. (Wow, where’d that sports analogy come from?!)

I also want to take a minute to send a shoutout to Skinny Emmie. She’s hit the 95+ pound mark in her weight loss journey and I couldn’t be more proud of her. She’s my inspiration, totally.

If anyone has any words of inspiration or personal mantras they’d like to share, please do. I need all the help I can get.

Love to you all.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lesley
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 12:08:28

    >Only words of inspiration I can offer is that YOU CAN DO IT! You'd be surprised how easy it is to stick to your plan if you are keeping track of food and SEE how many calories/fat/carbs/etc. are piling up on a daily basis. Back when I joined MyFitnessPal.com in August 2008, (btw, several of us geeky folk are there!) I was amazed to see everything added up that I was eating. In reading the inspirational forums, I started making healthier choices and sticking to my daily goals. And throwing in a half our or so of exercise daily isn't too hard, either! Before you know it, you'll be on the healthy track! It doesn't happen overnight, though, but there's lots of people here to support you – YOU CAN DO IT! :D@geeksoap (pinktoque on MyFitnessPal if you join!)

    Reply

  2. Alison
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 13:20:44

    >You can do it! As you said, you're not the only one out there.

    Reply

  3. Emily Sandford
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 18:42:01

    >Thank you so much for your kind words. Seriously, you can do it. There's no magic to it, just the right mindset and the right tools. I think you have both. Rooting for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

