Why another blog?

I have another blog. Why would I want to start a blog like this when there are so many out there? Well, I’ve seen great success with friends who are currently on their weight loss journeys and road to health that I thought I’d give it a try.

I’m 23 years old and live in Kentucky. Recently, Lexington, KY was named the 25th fattest city in America. Charleston, WV was ranked number 2. I am originally from Flatwoods, KY which is somewhere in the middle of those two cities. It seems like the I-64 corridor needs to learn to be more healthy.

At 23, I have several health issues. Obviously, my weight is number one. My other health issues tie directly into that: PCOS, sleep apnea, borderline diabetes, high blood pressure and take medications for all of my health problems. At 23, I have more health problems than some people’s grandparents.

I also suffer from depression, which again, is tied into the weight and PCOS, for which I was diagnosed about a year ago. But, that year hasn’t been all that productive and I’m setting out to change that.

I’m tired of just talking about changing things and showing little action. Back in February and March, I joined the YMCA and Weight Watchers. There were signs of success and then I quit. I gained the weight back and then some. Here I am, 20+ pounds heavier than I was 9 months ago and I hate myself for it. I want to change it.

Tonight, I sit here in my bedroom writing this. I am going to go to bed and wake up tomorrow with confidence and clarity of thinking. I want to be happy, I want to be healthy. I may never be thin, but I want to look good. I want to succeed. I will succeed.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Emily Sandford
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 16:57:03

    >Yes, you WILL do this. You're not alone.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

